Enterprise CMS, Enterprise Content Management, Web CMS, Web Content Management

Installing Day Software’s CQ5 WCM

Friday night… And what am I doing? Installing Day’s CQ5. I know, pathetic ;) But I am so excited, I can’t wait to play with it.

The big release is supposed to be officially announced next week. The first major release of Day’s Communiqué Web CMS since 2005. Not that Day has been slacking for the past three years, they were very busy with JSRs and JCRs and such, but this WCM release is certainly something that has been long expected from Day.

Just spent some time with Kevin Cochrane on the phone, on Skype and WebEx trying to get my install of CQ5 to work (thanks, Kevin). It finally is working.

Turns out that it’s not as easy as double-clicking the quickstart.jar file. But, again, I am having a very early access to CQ5, and I am on Windows. And I didn’t know much about JAVA_HOME until half an hour ago.

It all started out like this:

Day CQ5 Install

And then Cochrane played customer support with me, so I could have a workable instance of CQ5 to play with and review for next week. Not surprisingly, Cochrane is good at both marketing and customer support, Alfresco trained him well ;)

I don’t mind being a CQ5 guinea pig. I think I am one of the first people to ever download and install the latest build of CQ5. It’s CQ5.1, actually. Some of Day’s customers got early access to the major release. With their feedback it morphed into a point release.

So, I even ended up contributing a coupe of lines to the install instrux for DayCare, Day’s customer Intranet. What can I say… I am a geeky “early adapters” type.

CQ5 is looking good. There are some things that are annoying the hell out of me, and I will tell you about them next week. Read download instructions and release notes (carefully) — that’s all I can say right now.

Standard

16 thoughts on “Installing Day Software’s CQ5 WCM

  1. Anonymous says:

    Our intrepid business user installing and working with a complete ECM implementation! Enjoy your eval … we’re happy that a quick edit to our download page can help even non-developers test and trial our new release. Cheers Irina!

  2. Pingback: Reviewing Day Software’s CQ5 WCM « Irina Guseva: Random Thoughts on CMS, WCM, ECM and Other Acronyms

  3. Pingback: Day Software Sheds Non CMS UK Subsidiary - CMSWire « Irina Guseva: Random Thoughts on CMS, WCM, ECM and Other Acronyms

  4. Pingback: Day’s CQ 5.2: DAM and Social Collab Feast « Irina Guseva: Random Thoughts on CMS, WCM, ECM and Other Acronyms

  5. Pingback: Top 10 CMS Stories in 2009 « Irina Guseva: Random Thoughts on CMS, WCM, ECM and Other Acronyms

  6. Pingback: 2010: year in blogging « Irina Guseva: Random Thoughts on CMS, WCM, ECM and Other Acronyms

Leave a Reply

